Our first walk after the summer break started between the thatched cottages of the village street in picturesque Chilbolton.
Our route gave us a good view of the 25m white dish of the Chilbolton Observatory's radio telescope. We moved on to enter the nature reserve on West Down where we were treated to magnificent views across the Test Valley.
After descending from the Down, we joined the Test Way on the route of the old 'Sprat and Winkle' railway. After crossing the Test, we arrived at what used to be Fullerton Junction Station - now a private house.
From there we walked the short distance to the hamlet of Cottonwood and continued along the road in the direction of Wherwell. This road ran parallel to another disused railway which used to run from Fullerton Junction, through Wherwell and the Harewood forest, to Longparish and beyond. After about half a mile, we took a bridleway onto a long boardwalk crossing a part of the Test. The path led us onto the ancient, 48 acre, Chilbolton Cow Common which dates back to 1284.
We crossed two more parts of the Test flowing across the Common, to arrive back in Chilbolton Village where we enjoyed an excellent lunch.